​The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety, fire prevention and energy efficiency, develops the codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools.

​The ICC is a US - based non-profit, non-governmental organization which allows governmental jurisdictions around the world and other stakeholders to collaborate to create model building codes.   Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes, building safety codes developed by the ICC. The International Codes also serve as the basis for construction of federal properties around the world, and as a reference for many nations outside the United States.

​The International Codes, or I-Codes, published by the ICC, provide minimum safeguards for people at home, at school and in the workplace. The I-Codes are a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety, fire prevention and energy efficiency codes. Building codes benefit public safety and support the industry’s need for one set of codes without regional limitations.

​Fifty states and the District of Columbia have adopted and enforced at least one of the I-Codes at the state or jurisdictional level. Federal agencies including the Architect of the Capitol, General Services Administration, National Park Service, Department of State, U.S. Forest Service and the Veterans Administration also enforce the I-Codes. The Department of Defense references the International Building Code for constructing military facilities, including those that house U.S. troops, domestically and abroad. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands enforce one or more of the I-Codes. 
ICC members include state, county and municipal code officials and fire officials, architects, engineers, builders, contractors, elected officials, manufacturers and others in the construction industry. The International Code Council has nearly 340 chapters. Each chapter has its own personality and focus, representing all International Code Council member professional disciplines.

​The ICC develops the International Energy Conservation Code, a model energy efficiency code. This is one of many sustainable, green safe construction initiatives of the Council.

​The International Building Code and International Residential Code are just a few of the comprehensive I-Codes the Code Council has created and distributed across the country. The publications of the codes allow for easier following from members and allow them to observe and study the model code.
     Here is the current list of I-Codes developed and published by the Code Council:

          ICC Performance Code
          International Building Code
          ​International Fire Code
          International Residential Code
          International Plumbing Code
          International Energy Conservation Code
          International Private Sewage Disposal Code
          International Mechanical Code
          International Fuel Gas Code
          International Wildland-Urban Interface Code
          International Existing Building Code
          International Property Maintenance Code
          International Zoning Code
          International Swimming Pool and Spa Code
          International Green Construction Code

​Some of these codes have specific practices, such as the International Fire Code or the IGCC. The specific practices in this comprehensive green construction code focus on green building construction and building sustainability.

Questions?   Please click here to ask your questions!
© Select Investments LLC 2010-2017